Behind the Change

The past few months I’ve made nothing but life-altering decisions; New job, starting up my own business, a gym membership and blogging. It may not seem like much, but I’ve grown up in a house where it takes a month’s time to decide if we are going to paint the living room walls “Eggshell” or “Bone.” If only I was joking. Change strikes fear because our minute human brains can’t process the idea of unpredictability. We stray from the unknown. Perhaps that is why I’m flooded with various renditions of the same question; “What brought on all this change?”
I graduated in May from our local community college with my education in Dental Assisting. Thanks to my last stop for clinicals, I was able to land a job at the main orthodontic office in our tri-state area. I’m (not surprisingly) the youngest at my job. The majority of the women I work with are married with kids or currently pregnant. They talk about their kids, paying mortgages, and who they ran into at the grocery store over the weekend. If being the “newbie” wasn’t a challenge enough, I can’t even relate to their small talk. I’m 19, still live with my parents saving for my /dream/ apartment, and the only child that lives with me is my 12 year old brother. I love my job, but fitting in is most definitely a work in progress.
Through a health and wellness network marketing company, I help people achieve weight-loss and lifestyle change, I own a website, and I work straight from my phone. Saying yes to this opportunity has benefited me in more ways than I can count. Unlike my other job, I have so much control. Which has helped with my sanity, for the time being. I have met countless empowering, encouraging women. Still quite a bit younger and less “experienced” in this world, but we all have the same goal. Being a part of this community has been one of the biggest blessings in my life.
The gym. Ugh. I was fit in high school; working out and eating right was my LIFE. I was /obsessed/, to say the very least. But being a full-time college student, who was struggling to keep up with her 18 credit hours, clinicals, working part-time, and cramming for boards, put fitness on the back burner. After a year of constant stress, non-existent sleep, poor judgement on diet selection, and my mom’s side of child-bearing hips, I lost my toned figure. Besides appearance, my energy is lacking and my metabolism has been M.I.A. It has been rough trying to get back in the swing of things, but nothing feels more incredible than taking control and making a positive impact for myself.
Blogging is an entirely new adventure. Okay, not ENTIRELY new, but who admits to things committed in middle school? Although I’m sure those posts are pure gold (*clears throat*), I’m going to start with a fresh, clean slate. With all these recent changes, I feel like I will have a lot to blog about.

“Change is hard at first, messy in the middle and gorgeous at the end.” -Robin Sharma

Leave a Reply

